Blades Fire Company - Sussex County, Delaware

Local Weather
Light Rain 75oLight Rain
Get Forecast
Local Weather
Recent Alarms
Thu, Sep 21, 20239:25
Structure Fire - Residential (Single)
7 West Ninth St
Blades, DE 19973
Thu, Sep 21, 20234:52
Medical Emergency
Thu, Sep 21, 20231:00
Medical Emergency
Full Run Log
Local Weather

Listen to Live Fireground Operations.

Listen Now
Find Out More

Blades Volunteer Fire Company the First Fifty Years

Several changes were seen during the year 1970, Alton Callaway was again re-elected, Wilton Porter would be sworn in as the new President. Soda machine prices had to be raised to 15 cents, the company decided not to fill swimming pools anymore. Ambulance Attendant certification went to Jack Rigby, Ronald Callaway, Arlan Neill, Wayne Chaffinch and Robert Kagey Jr. Wayne Chaffinch was appointed to the Delaware Volunteer Firemen’s Association Executive Committee.

1971, the new Constitution and By-Laws were read and passed by a vote of 15yea to 3 no’s. The company decided to purchase a 1966 Ambulance in March and paid it off in June. Wilton Porter and Alton Callaway were again returned to their respective offices.

The year 1972, the elections were moved to January with Arlan Neill being elected as President and Alton Callaway again re-elected to the position of Chief. New home alert systems were introduced if any member wanted one they had to purchase them the cost was $160,00.

Elections in 1973 were for President Charles Hare and Alton Callaway Chief. The company approved the purchase of a 1973 Cadillac Ambulance.

William Hughes was elected in 1974 and Alton Callaway was elected again as Fire Chief. In February the Company had paid $8,500 for 3.5 acres of land that was to be the home of the new Fire House. Also that year they received their Federal Tax Exemption. A large fund drive was underway to raise fund for the new fire station, raising over $5,500 dollars, the Ladies Auxiliary presented a check for $1,000.00 from their recent fund raisers.

1975 would be an exciting year, the elections saw Harvey Simpson being elected President and Wayne Chaffinch being elected as the new Chief of the Company, Ambulance Captain would Charles Walmsley. The Building Blitz would continue throughout the year. Many contracts were signed towards the completion of the new fire house. September would be the month that we moved into the new building. The first event to be held in the building was a dinner and dance as part of the Delaware Volunteer Firemen’s Convention that was hosted by Seaford Volunteer Fire Department.

In 1976 the old Fire House was sold. Ed Maas was elected as President and Wayne Chaffinch was re-elected at Chief. Bob Kagey was elected as Ambulance Captain. Moving in the new building Bingo games were starting to make a lot of money for the company with much of the proceeds to be paid on the mortgage.

During the year 1977, The cost for the welding needed to finish the Brush Truck would be less than $800.00. The Company decided to submit a bid to the Milton Fire Company for their Rescue truck. Robert L. Kagey was elected President and Wayne Chaffinch again was elected Chief of the Company.

Robert L. Kagey was re-elected in 1978 to be the President along with Wayne Chaffinch as Chief and George Joseph Jr. as Ambulance Captain. In May, Alton Callaway was elected as President. The Company received a Check for $28,235.38 from the Insurance money from the State. Tate Engineering submitted a cost of $987.00 to complete the tanker. A tank trailer was received from Peninsula Oil Company. A committee was formed to try to find a tractor. Smoke Gard smoke detectors were being sold by the company. The Fire Company took delivery of their new Mini-Pumper from Hamerly. Blue and Gold jackets were approved for each member making 80% of their requirements. The company decided to put out for bids for the old tanker and to buy an aluminum trailer from Wilson Baker. A letter was to be sent to the Town of Blades thanking them for the help in obtaining funds for the company.

Displaying 5-5 of 9 Pages
< 1 ¦ 2 ¦ 3 ¦ 4 ¦ 5 ¦ 6 ¦ 7 ¦ 8 ¦ 9 >